How to be a part of your organization?

Happy Work Environment Clipart

Being a senior, I have experienced many different jobs such as waiters at restaurants, a salesman for English centers, etc.

Being an introverted person, changing a new job is a challenge for me: starting a career I have never experienced, having to get acquainted with new colleagues, having to integrate into the culture of the company, etc. However, up till now, I have concluded some small tips to get used to and quickly integrate into the new working environment.

I. Have lunch with the colleague

Group of people are eating stock vector. Illustration of indoors ...

The dining table is always the fastest place to start any relationship, so don’t refuse to be invited to lunch with colleagues in the early days. This is an indication that you are ready to integrate with them.

Lunchtime will be the most convenient opportunity for you to get acquainted with new colleagues. The English center where I worked was not very crowded, after only one meal and lunch, I learned the basic information, such as the name and the job of each person. In large companies with many employees and departments, this process takes more time. But whether it is a long or a short time, it will bring a unified result, which is to show your agility and harmony in the new environment.

Besides, lunchtime is also a time when you can learn more about the company culture and the “implicit” rules to note. More than anyone, veteran employees know what their boss likes and dislikes. For example, thanks to that, I learned that my new boss was very open about the time, but also raised the spirit of self-awareness. The company does not have specific working hours and break time. If the morning missed a little late, then nobody will be strict about calculating the time minus salary, but the afternoon must accept to stay later, most importantly, make sure to complete the job well and on time. I could never have known this information without going to lunch with my colleagues.

However, lunchtime is also a time to be careful with your gestures and words. You may make a bad impression on a new colleague if you talk too much about yourself, or make a “scratchy” sound when chewing, etc. So eat slowly, and focus on asking about problems of the company as well as the working environment.

II. Limit your questions

Best Questions to Ask for Better Testimonials | Zoho Academy

Surely you feel it is unreasonable to read this advice because many people recommend that you “try to ask as much as possible” or “the boss will be happy when you know how to make a question”. It is true that with the company’s expertise, you are required to ask because this shows the attitude of enthusiasm. If you do it your own way, it will cause even worse consequences.

However, with the basic knowledge that can rely on Google, you should not ask. If you keep asking about basic knowledge like PowerPoints, Excel, Docs, it will annoy others because everyone is busy doing his own work. Moreover, your boss will assess that you are weak at skills when you are unable to complete the simplest and most basic tasks yourself.

III. Attend every possible meeting

Why Your CEO Needs to Attend Your Redesign Meeting - The MatriX ...

I know new employees are often afraid of meetings because they sit and listen but don’t understand. As I am an “outsider” when entering the retailing industry, any meeting of the company for me is also a “torture.” I tried to hide from the meeting, and after a while, I knew I was wrong.

Missing the meeting, I missed what was happening in the company, missed valuable experiences, etc. I once asked my boss about some plans during the upcoming anniversary of the English center, and he just asked, “In the meeting, it was discussed, you did not come to the meeting, didn’t you?”.

After that, I knew that I needed to attend every possible meeting, take notes, and listen actively. Although I sometimes don’t understand it all at once, I at least get a full picture. This is not only for the whole team but also for me so that I do not get lost in the rotation of the whole team.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started